Home General News Peace Council Must Be “Dissolved”. . . It Has Outlived Its Usefulness...

Peace Council Must Be “Dissolved”. . . It Has Outlived Its Usefulness – Sam Pee Yalley


Peace Council Must Be “Dissolved”. . . It Has Outlived Its Usefulness – Sam Pee Yalley

Ghana’s former Ambassador to India, His Excellency Sam Pee Yalley has said the National Peace Council (NPC) must be dissolved since they have lost focus per the mandate granted them.

According to him, members of the Council are no more addressing matters as expected of them.

He affirmed the Council is no more acting in good faith as it used to do some years back, therefore, dissolving it will be the best option since it cannot meet its aim.

” . . I would say the Peace Council should be dissolved. It has outlived its usefulness,” he stated.

Mandate of National Peace Council

The National Peace Council (NPC) is an independent statutory national peace institution established by the eight hundred and eighteenth (818) Act of the Parliament of the Republic of Ghana, named The National Peace Council Act, 2011. Thus any activity undertaken by the Council must be derived from its mandate under Act 818. The core function of the Council is to prevent, manage, and resolve conflict and to build sustainable peace.

The National Peace Council comprises at the national level of a governing body known as the Board of thirteen eminent persons appointed by the President. The appointment is for a period of four years but a Board member may resign or membership may be revoked by the President for stated reasons. There is also an Executive Secretary appointed by the President, responsible for day to day administration of the affairs of the Council.

At the Regional and District Levels, the NPC is comprised of Regional and District Peace Councils appointed by the Board in consultation with the Regional coordinating Council and the District Assembly respectively. There are also Regional and District Executive Secretaries appointed by the President.

The current Governing Council was sworn in by former President John Dramani Mahama at the Flagstaff House in Accra in 2016.

Governing Council

1. Most Rev Prof. Emmanuel Asante        – Office of the President – Chairman of the Council
2. Nana Agyakoma Dufie II                     – Office of the President
3. Most Rev Vincent Sowah Boi Nai          – Catholic Bishops Conference
4. Apostle Dr. Opoku Onyinah                  – Ghana Pentecostal Council.
5. Archbishop Nicholas Duncan Williams    – Ghana Charismatic Council
6. Maulvi Mohammed Bin Salih                 – Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission
7. Sheikh Mohammed Gedel                     – Al – hasuna Muslims
8. Imam Awal Alhassan                             – Tijahaniya Muslims
9. Osofo Kofi Atabuasi                               – African Trad. Religion Practitioners
10. Nana Susubribi Krobea Asante             – House of Chiefs
11. Rev Dr Nii Amoo Darko                        – Identifiable Groups
12. Mr. Shaibu Abubakar                           – Identifiable Groups
13. Rev Dr Adu Gyamfi                              – Christian Council of Ghana

Mr. George Amoh is the Ag. Executive Secretary of the National Peace Council.

Source: peacefmonline.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here